South is Up

I had a dream I was on a journey and moving in the wrong direction.

Lately, I’d begun studying the lunar cycles as part of my research on the divine feminine rising. So, I got up early that morning and began reviewing what I’d learned about directional instances as described in Kemetic interpretations.

upperlowerkemet

One major revelation I gained early in my studies is that because the Nile River flows from south to north; southern parts of the Kemetic kingdom were labeled “Upper Kemet” while the northern lands near the Mediterranean Sea are called “Lower Kemet.” Another bit of truth I’ve gained is the Gall-Peters map, (AfRaKa projected very large on the world scale), is a more accurate projection of earth than the Mercator maps used in US schools that make Europe and the United States seem larger than they really are.

gal-petersworld

Then I came across the very interesting view of the Apollo 17 photo of the world from space where a website showing the south-pole on top and AfRaKa upside down.(https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3AApollo17WorldReversed.jpg).

apollo17worldreversed

So my final focus directed me to look again at one of the famous illustrations of Ra’s Sun Boat Journey depicting the NTR to include the Goddess Nut giving birth to the sun…Shu pointing where the sun enters her mouth and is delivered from her womb.  The symbols and paintings of Kemet preserved to have lasted thousands of years must surely be trying to tell us something.

Looking at the illustration I realize:

(a) the sun-boat is traveling from left (a starry morning sky) to the right (the Duat); we know the sun rises in the “East” and sets in the “West” so the illustration also assumes “South” is up.

(b) Goddess Nut swallows the sun in the west each night and gives birth to it in the east by day.  Since her womb is located to the left (east), South is up.

(c) the Great Sphinx of Giza is said to face the sunset which agrees with the illustration where the hind-part of a lion rides the left  (east) depiction of the sun boat in the illustration.

sunboatdirections

All this brings me to accept at this time that South is Up; and question why I was taught otherwise?

Am I living through someone’s mirror???

Hotep.

Leave a Reply

