Meditating TekKen Pose

TeKken Pose to Open Energy Channels

There are a lot of questions on how to meditate…how to do it correctly?…how long to do it to be effective?

MeditationEnergyMy journey leads me to understand meditation not only can be done anywhere, anytime and anyway; but a true Neo-Kemetic Yogi practices to stay in meditation perpetually.

 

One of my favorite ways to begin a focused meditation session is the TeKken Pose as described by Master Yirser Ra Hotep of YogaSkills.com. Master Ra Hotep has spent over 30-yrs researching illustrations (written in the stone) in Kemet (Ancient Egypt) and seeking understanding on how the images display and describe the practice of yoga.

Hatshepsut Teken

Usually, the goal of Smai Tawi (Kemetic Yoga) is to open energy channels for yoking the mind and body…the benefit being to enhance health and healing.

The sequence in the first video link below starts with a standing TeKken pose and finishes seated…practicing an alternating breath exercise. Shu is the Kemetic word for “breath” and the NTR responsible for gravity.

Because Smai Tawi incorporates “moving with breath in meditation”, I personally embrace this form of yoking the mind and body (ie definition of yoga).

The TeKken (otherwise known as the obelisk) represents different forms of symbolism from different perspectives. To keep this blog short, I’ll just pass along my accepted perspective that the TeKken represents rays of sunshine.  The Sun is energy, and as I often sun-gaze, the sun-rays look to me like TeKken.

teken sun rays

 

The TeKken pose is a simple but highly effective way to settle the mind and open energy channels for meditation. I encourage you to watch the YouTube video links below; and in addition elaborate how I begin meditating using the sequence:

Get Focused
*Standing straight up with my shoulders back and relaxed; feet together; hands to the sides of the thighs; and head comfortably level forward (looking into the future) usually directs my mind to set an intention for the exercise. Sometimes I need to take 3-long breaths here to clear my mind.

Stay Focused
*In the video, Master Ra Hotep instructs holding the tongue to the top of the mouth to enhance energy connectivity.

Become a Ray of Sun
*Once my arms are over my head with my hands pointing to the sky, I meditate being one of the many rays of Sun emitting light from the sky.

 

Open Throat Chakra
*Lowering the back of my head while in pose opens my throat energy channels for enhancement of communication paths as I face the sky (ancestors). After 3-breaths, I return my head to its level position looking forward (into the future again.)

Perfect Aura
*After taking a few deep breaths with the head comfortably looking into the future again, I meditate on using the sun-ray/TeKken created to develop an aura of light and protection while dropping my arms back to my sides.

Sometimes I repeat the sequence until I’m satisfied with the enlightened aura of protection I’ve created.  And then I’m prepared to begin my personal session of meditation…hopefully still focused on the intention I initially set.

There are many videos on the web for variations of the TeKken Pose. The first video link below is great for those who are very new to Smai Tawi and not ready for intense flexibility poses.  About 4-minutes into the video, Master Ra Hotep starts TeKken Pose instructions:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0P4HLmdEfPU

This video link below doesn’t require a lot of flexibility; but incorporates at least 9 to 10-minutes of standing.  The forward bend is great for channeling energy through the spine and lower back:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4SL1w5C3d0

Many will agree…Meditation is Medicine.  Once you feel comfortable to begin a practice, I hope it brings health and healing to you too.

As always, thanks ALL for the shared text, images and video 🙂

Leave a Reply

